You TubeFacebookTwitterflickrGoogle plus
Thursday, 23 May 2019 12:51 pm

Kapiti Coast local government electors have 27 posts to fill

LG Kapiti MAIN 1

LG Kapiti Guru

K Gurunathan

AN ex-journalist, local radio station manager and school principal are among 47 candidates hoping to win a place on Kapiti Coast District Council next month.

The three – K (Guru) Gurunathan, Mark Benton and Doris Zuur – are first-timers on the campaign trail.

Others, like community board chairs Don Moselen (Otaki) and Michael Scott (Waikanae), are aiming to move up the political rung to district-wide councillor.

Twenty-seven positions are up for grabs, including mayor, five district-wide councillors, five ward councillors and 16 community board members.

Sixteen candidates are standing for more than one position (double the number in 2007). Should they win both seats, they take the higher of the two.

For Otaki, this could mean a by-election in February as the only candidates standing for the community board are the existing four members, Andre Baker, James Cootes, Penny Gaylor, and Mr Moselen, three of whom are also standing for higher positions.
LG Kapiti Mark

Mark Benton

Five would-be mayors are challenging incumbent Jenny Rowan.

David Mitchell, general secretary of local group United Ratepayers, and Chris Turver, Greater Wellington Regional councillor, who both ran for mayor in 2007, are back again.

Chris Glover, unsuccessful in 2007 running for district councillor, is also after the mayor’s role as are newcomers Ross Church, owner of Autoclassics Ltd, and local businessman Mike Clulee.

The district-wide council seats will be contested by 16 candidates. Incumbents Tony Jack and Peter Ellis, ward councillor Diane Ammundsen, and community board chairs Mr Moselen (Otaki) and Mr Scott (Waikanae) have all thrown their hats in the ring.
Roger Booth, Don Briggs, Nick Fisher and Iride McCloy, who ran in previous elections, and mayoral candidate Mr Mitchell are also standing, along with newcomers Mike Cardiff, Ross Church, Hone Davis, Helene Donaldson, Glen Hooker and Ms Zuur. Not seeking re-election is Anne Molineux.
LG Kapiti Doris

Doris Zuur

In the Otaki Ward, community board members Mr Baker and Ms Galyor go head to head for the one councillor vacancy, as incumbent Ann Chapman runs for Greater Wellington Regional Council.

Paekakariki/Raumati Ward councillor Lyndy McIntyre is standing down leaving the one vacancy to be contested by mayoralty candidate Mr Glover, current community board member Janet Holborow and district-wide councillor Hilary Wooding.

The two vacancies for Paraparaumu Ward councillor will see incumbent Peter Daniel up against newcomers Beryl Barr, Mr Benton, Mr Gurunathan, Tony Lester and Marilyn Stephens.

Also running are current community board member Louella Jenson and district-wide councillor David Scott. Ms Ammundsen, who currently holds the other ward seat, is running for district-wide council.

Waikanae Ward councillor Sandra Patton is stepping down, and community board members Eric Gregory, Jocelyn Prvanov and Harold Thomas are lined up along with newcomers Richard Halliday, Tony Lloyd (who ran in the 2004 elections) and Marie O’Sullivan.

Paekakariki Community Board members Ms Holborow, Helen Keivom, Steve Eckett and Adrian Webster are standing for re-election. Ms Holborow is also running for ward councillor, which could improve the odds for the one challenger, Renwick Wright.

Ms Jensen and Will Scollay, standing for re-election to the Paraparumu/Raumati Community Board, will be running against newcomers Ms Barr, Jonny Best, Trevor Daniell, and district councillor Ms Wooding for one of four seats at the table.

Current community board chair John Haxton is not seeking re-election.

All four Waikanae Community Board members, Mr Gregory, Ms Prvanov, Mr Scott and Mr Thomas, are standing again and running for higher positions.

Their challengers for board seats are Mr Halliday, Mr Lloyd and Marc Pettie.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

is a Whitireia journalism student.
Email this author | All posts by

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Radio News