You TubeFacebookTwitterflickrGoogle plus
Monday, 22 April 2019 02:12 am

NewsWire’s coverage of council elections

Oct 12th, 2013 | By | Category: Editor's Picks, Front Page Layout, News, Top Picture


THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT elections have gotten under way, and with some of the  winners announced already things have gotten off with a roar.

3:57: Both Stuff and the NZ Herald have stories with the current winners announced on them. In Auckland Len Brown has once again been re-elected into the Mayoralty, and has thanked his supporters and  his opponents. Christchurch has elected former Labour MP Lianne Danziel as their Mayor.

Ray Wallace

4:07: Closer to home, the Dominion Post has coverage of the Wellington region winners. Lower Hutt has re-elected Ray Wallace right as their Mayor. Upper Hutt has also re-elected their Mayor, Wayne Guppy. Lyn Patterson was elected as the new Mayor of Masterton. While Carterton Mayor Ron Mark ran unopposed for the position.

4:18: Napier has elected Bill Dalton as the new Mayor. Julie Hardaker won the Hamilton Mayoralty. Tim Shadbolt has once again been elected Mayor of Invercargill.  The Western Bay of Plenty has elected Ross Paterson as Mayor. Former Northland MP John Carter has won the Mayoralty for Far North. Brendan Duffy has been elected the Mayor of Horowhenua.

010513. News. Photo supplied by PCC Porirua Mayor Nick Leggett

4:19: The Dominon Post has said that Nick Leggett left has won the Porirua vote and has been announced as the new Mayor.

4:24: In Nelson Rachel Reese has won the Mayoralty, becoming the first woman Mayor in Nelson, according to Stuff. Tasman has elected Richard Kempthorne as Mayor.

4:27: Westland has elected Mike Havill for the District Council, according to the NZ Herald.

4:33: Tony Lepper has retained the Central Otago Mayoralty according to the Otago Daily Times Havill as their Mayor according to the NZ Herald.

4:38: The NZ Herald has said that Annette Main has won her second term as Mayor of Whanganui. She will be leading a council with four new councillors.

4:40: Roly Ellis has been re-elected as the Mayor of Tararua, drawing 93% of the vote.

4:48: Neil Volzke has been voted in as the Mayor of Stratford according to the NZ Herald.



Steve Chadwick Headshot

5:05:  The NZ Herald has said the mayors for Rotorua, Taupo and Whakatane have been announced. Steve Chadwick right has won Rotorua with 10,999 votes, David Trewavas won Taupo and Tony Bonne won Whakatane.

5:06: Two term councillor Andrew Judd had been announced as the new Mayor of New Plymouth. He has secured 16,883 votes according to Stuff.
5:10: NewstalkZB has said that Gisborne has re-elected Meng Foon as Mayor.
5:12: Brian Hanna has retained the Mayoralty of Waitomo.

5:20: Stuff has said that Kaikoura has re-elected Winston Gray as Mayor, South Wairarapa has kept Adrienne Staples as Mayor and Marlborough has re-elected Alistair Sowman.

5:22: Don Cameron has become the new Mayor of Ruapehu with 1850 votes.

5:23: Jim Mylchreest has become the Mayor of Waipa, replacing the retired, long-standing Alan Livingston according to Radio NZ.

5:23: The Dominion Post has said that Peter Butler has been re-elected as Mayor of Central Hawke’s Bay against his only opponent Trish Giddens.

5:25: According to Radio New Zealand, Jan Barnes is the new Mayor of the Matamata-Piako District. Ms Barnes replaces the retired Hugh Vercoe. Allan Sanson and Neil Sinclair have been re-elected in Waikato and South Waikato. Max Baxter is the new Mayor of Otorohanga and John Tregidga has won the Mayoralty of Hauraki for his fourth consecutive term.

5:37: Ross Dunlop has been elected as the Mayor of South Taranaki, according to Stuff. mayorstuartcrosby

5:51: Stuart Crosby left has retained the Mayoralty of Tauranga.

6:00: Margaret Kouvelis has been elected the Mayor of the Manawatu District Council after running unopposed, according to Stuff, and Rangitikei has elected Andy Watson, according to the Manawatu Standard.

6:13: According to the NZ Herald, Craig Little has been elected Mayor of Wairoa with 1632 votes.

6:18: Sheryl Mai has been elected Mayor of Whangarei after standing with 11 other candidates said the NZ Herald.

6:18: The Waikato Times has said that Glenn Leach has retained the Mayoralty of Thames-Coromandel.

6:26: Malcolm Campbell has won the Kawerau Mayoralty with 1286 votes according to the NZ Herald.



6:28: John Forbes has been elected Mayor of Opotiki District Council, according to the NZ Herald.

7:15: Winton Dalley has become the unopposed Mayor of the Hurunui District Council according to Stuff.


7:16: Stuff has said that Claire Barlow left has been elected Mayor of the Mackenzie  District.

7:18: Damon Odey has won the Timaru Mayoralty with 10,335 votes said Stuff.

7:18: Waimakariri has voted in David Ayers as their new Mayor and Craig Rowley took over the Mayoral role for Waimate said Stuff.

7:23: Jono Naylor has been re-elected as the Palmerston North Mayor, according to the Manawatu Standard.

7:47: Lawrence Yule has been re-elected as the Mayor of Hastings according to

7:50: Newstalk ZB has reported that Angus Mckay has been re-elected for the Mayoralty of Ashburton and Queenstown Lakes District re-elected Vanessa van Uden for her second term.

7:54: Tracy Hicks has won the Mayoral vote for Gore according to Newstalk ZB online.

7:56: Tony Kokshoorn was elected unopposed as Grey district Mayor.


8:11: Kelvin Coe has been re-elected as the Mayor of Selwyn.

8:14: Bryan Cadogan has retained his Mayoral standing in Clutha.

8:17: Dave Cull has been re-elected as Dunedin’s Mayor.

8:25: Gary Tong is the new Mayor of Southland with a close vote of 3371 leading in front of Paul Duffy with 3191 according to



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

is the Whitireia Journalism class.
Email this author | All posts by

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Radio News